Once a user has joined your workspace, you (or another workspace administrator) can modify their status. By default, when users accept your invitation and join your workspace they will be collaborators.
Members of a Workspace are either:
- Guest: A guest can read and post to the activity stream, and import templates into their private appliance library.
- Collaborator: The collaborator has the same rights as the Guest, but can also share templates.
- Administrator: This is generally the user who has created the workspace. There can be several administrators in a workspace. In addition to the basic rights of the collaborator, the administrator can invite members and is able to delete a Workspace.
To modify the status of a member:
- Click on the drop-down menu next to the member's name.
- Select the new status.
The main purpose of the collaboration workspace is to share appliance templates with a group of users. This is not the same as sharing a template on the Marketplace. A template in a collaboration workspace is only visible to members of the workspace. A template on the Marketplace is available to all the members of an organization.
Once you have created a collaboration workspace, you can invite users to your workspace. By inviting users, they will be able to view appliances you have shared and potentially share templates, depending on the rights you attribute to the users. By default, the users invited to your workspace will be collaborators.
UForge allows users to create shared workspaces. Under the Collaboration tab, all users can create a number of workspaces, invite other users and share appliance templates with the members of their workspace. While the Marketplace shares your templates with all the users in the organization, with a collaboration workspace, you must invite specific users to join your workspace. Only users who accept the invitation will be able to view your appliance templates.